Ever wished you could play your favorite games via cloud while on the go?

Electronic Arts (EA) is looking to make your wish come true. The video game publishing giant is currently in the midst of preparing the launch for its game streaming service, Project Atlas.

Project Atlas is a technology which allows gamers to play all of EA’s titles through multiple devices using cloud gaming.

EA is set to launch a public test that’ll see Fifa 19, Titanfall 2, Need for Speed Rivals, and Unravel available for select test participants.

Imagine playing Titanfall 2 across multiple platforms.

Moss explains that the test will study the possibility of uniting multiple platforms through cloud gaming. If the test goes well, we’ll soon be able to play video games across the PC, smartphones, tablets and smart TV.

“You would be able to stream a Madden HD game directly to the smart TV in your living room, or even in a hotel room if you’re traveling. You could even also continue same session on the go, right on your smartphone,” Ken Moss, EA’s Chief Technology Officer, reveals in a post which was published on Medium.

Test participants will be able to “engage with the live PC environment on (EA’s online service Origin) test out their cross progression when they log in to PC”.

The evolution of gaming, from the console to the cloud

The evolution of gaming, from the console to the cloud.

If you’re keen to be part of this test, sign up over here, log in and click the Community Playtesting option.

EA is not the only one currently experimenting with cloud gaming. Microsoft’s Xbox has its Project xCloud, Sony PlayStation has PlayStation Now and Google is working on Google Stadia.

Even Nvidia, a hardware manufacturer, recently partnered with Nintendo and Capcom to release a Japan exclusive Resident Evil 7 Cloud Version for the Switch. Ubisoft on the other hand released Assassin’s Creed Odyssey as another cloud-based option for Nintendo’s best-selling console.

Cover image sourced from Gfinity and Techspot.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here